Migrating the Olympus Dictation Management System to Your New Computer
December 19, 2013
The end of a budget year often means a spate of technology upgrades. Fortunately, changing computers does not mean your clients will lose their ODMS user settings and preferences.
If ODMS is installed individually on computer systems, IT administrators can migrate user settings manually, with a login script, or via Active Directory. The latter is the simplest for standalone setups, since IT staff can simply copy an .xml file containing individual user information, then access it on a shared drive during software installation on the new computer.
The ODMS Workgroup System makes things even easier. In workgroup installations, ODMS software is deployed on new computers via Active Directory or a login script, and user settings are automatically pulled from a repository folder.